What's new

1988 Samurai Turned Buggy

FleshEater

Ordinary Average Guy
Member Number
Loc
Pennsylvania
I debated posting this. Got three running projects on here as is, but…it’s a great way to document progress and ask questions.

So, a couple Sundays ago I bought this turd off Craigslist for way less than they were asking. Because, well it’s a turd.

The motivation to buy this was to finally learn how to build. Tubing/cage work, axle swaps, etc. I’ve never done anything like this before so it’s exciting to finally do it to a turd. If I screw it up, then oh well. :homer:

It’s a running…uh…driving 88’ Sami. The day I brought it home my oldest kid was all over it and made tons of laps around the property in it. He wants me to keep it running while I work on it, but that will not be possible.

4B8E43AA-C6BB-4D49-A437-BC05CC1A003E.jpeg

Since then all I’ve done is take out the winch and cut off that front bumper.

Plan is to strip it down to bare, bare minimum wiring. Maybe a custom dash with a few gauges. Different seats. Full exo-cage after cutting the rear half of the cab off and front fenders. Toyota axles on 35’s. All I’ve got so far.

This will probably end up like a hack-fab job, but I have to start doing this stuff and might as well wreck this first. :flipoff2:

More pics from today…most of this has to be done outside, or wait until spring/summer.

I also brought home a pile of awesome Toyota stuff from Wuz-A-zuk this weekend in trade for delivering a Tracker drivetrain to him. :smokin:

The rot:

523D86C5-CB86-4F63-9F72-7A3D646752F5.jpeg
515EABB6-9B69-4DFF-BF94-E74543121066.jpeg
BE12DF79-62BE-448D-9571-4A7A3B07C621.jpeg
22D153D8-6E25-41FC-A87D-E720C087B63C.jpeg
C38257DC-FB77-4EB5-9086-1EFC87BC9638.jpeg

The awesome steering. :laughing:

9187D9F2-29B6-4D12-A0C8-D572D092874F.jpeg

The Toyota goodies.

4FD503A7-D4C3-4F7E-A405-E5FA4C93847A.jpeg
3CAD8801-9E86-4D11-B6FA-71596C6DFC4E.jpeg

So another journey begins.